RSS

#SomeoneTellCNN

14 Mar

Someone tell CNN

I dream to see my daughter grow

and got up with an aching tooth

rushing all the way on foot

beyond the bus station

across Uhuru highway

to clean a home that’s in my care

and please the boss who pays my daughter’s fare

after flying guests from far and near

whose eyes dart in fear

as they watch CNN scream

Violence In Kenya

when what I saw was a man

throw a grenade

within his range.

 

♯SomeoneTellCNN

I dream to see my baby win

BT

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “#SomeoneTellCNN

  1. btwamuyu

    March 14, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    A couple of days ago Kenyans and friends of Kenya rallied on Twitter #SomeoneTellCNN to stop alarmist reporting on Kenya. CNN changed the story on air and on line. This is my contribution…for posterity.

     
  2. irenelefort

    March 14, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    Shows how media can manipulate reality despite the claim to be objective.

     
    • btwamuyu

      March 15, 2012 at 8:15 am

      Yeah. Social media can be the great equaliser

       
  3. stevehallsbooks

    March 14, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Left a clear image as I was reading it. I could see the poem in my mind’s eye.

     
    • btwamuyu

      March 15, 2012 at 8:12 am

      Good to hear. Greatly appreciate the feedback

       
      • stevehallsbooks

        March 15, 2012 at 4:17 pm

        By the way… thank you for following my blog.

         
  4. Francina

    March 21, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    ah Cnn, well who believes them anyway? Not me.
    Very well written poem against the manipulating so often the truth by the media. Sad, the news should be objective, but that is an utopia.

     
    • btwamuyu

      March 22, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      Thats funny…on not believing them. Occassionally one does wonder whose interests they serve and how much I have believed that I shouldn’t have

       

Leave a Reply

 
