RSS

Fear

07 Apr

I feel fear

It creeps up on me when I am not looking

When danger is imminent, fear is a fierce attacker

A black shark’s fin stabbing at my soul

A mugger holding onto my throat

A roiling dark sea drowning my lungs

An endless drizzle, making me cold and wet everywhere

 

Am still here. Nothing’s chasing me

Not the thief, the boss or a hungry stomach

There’s no danger, but all’s not well

There’s something heavy in the pit of my stomach

A sourness at home in my mouth

An apology everywhere

Am sitting in the smallest space, the furthest corner

 

This is fear. It is not me and it won’t leave me alone

I feel the pain, adjust my jacket and choose to live

The pain dissolves

Then fear tightly grabs my neck from behind

I can’t breath, I shift the strap of my bag and choose to live

The pain lets go

Then it pours from the sky soaking me with dread

Dear God! Help me God!

 

I have to choose fast

To live or die

To look at the face of fear

I take a breath, look at the darkness and live

 

 

BT

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Fear

  1. BT

    April 7, 2012 at 7:45 am

    Sounds familiar?

     
  2. stevehallsbooks

    April 11, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    You chose wisely. 🙂

     
    • BT

      April 11, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      This is the first piece I wrote when I started this poetic journey

       

Leave a Reply

 
