RSS

A Food Revelation

12 May

Swinging into the seat

Pulling it at the same time

Its’ lunch time

I’m bright as the light outside

Chicken juices spread around my plate

Stomach juices gush about – in anticipation

Taste buds know the flavour

even before the rice leaves the plate

Eyes glance with pleasure at my companions

I shift around my seat again

And lift the fork to my mouth

 

This can’t be simply eating

Goodness gushes down to my toes

A prize for all my labour

The joy of being alive

Sharing in the earth’s bounty

A comfort for all the hardship

A pure moment of happiness

My body getting another chance

Learning from the spice of a different world

I am so alive

 

I serve a second helping

Whatever I do will never be enough

Bad things keep coming at me

He must think am ugly

I will never own a thing

Everyone else just gets ahead

These times are really tough

The food pushes against the seams of my stomach

I can still feel him grabbing at my throat

I wish my dad had never left

I put the fork down

Push the seat slowly back

And leave the table

BT

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “A Food Revelation

  1. BT

    May 12, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Food as a friend. Food as a cure of pain.

     

Leave a Reply

 
