RSS

He Hugged Me

16 Jun

Image

This package is wrapped in patronage and pity

I must open it like I do all rap gifts

A vintage car drives up deprivation road

through a schooled camera

Kids with a sharp eye to the lens tell the hard story

Dandora Music is on the screen

looping at the start of a journey

It also sits on a chair across from me

Innocently creeping up on me

I am arrested

 

Fully acquiesced to my adult questioning

Dutifully pieces his life together

All my talking is not relaxing me

Submission and confidence

blend on him and not as a paradox

He occupies the easy space that I cannot fill

He lives between limitation and opportunity

Making some effort without any strain

He’s perched on a soft parental cushion that I can’t see

I come down from my walled in seat

Vulnerability is the only position

from which I might see him

 

He swaggers in last for the meal

Youthful sexuality strangely at home with humility

Washing dishes into a place in my heart

I must see this man again

I measure a cautious distance to say goodbye

But he crumples it and throws it in the trash

He hugs me

The magic in the air locks into a miracle

A current washes over me

And my heart takes the place of order and memory

 

BT

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “He Hugged Me

  1. BT

    June 16, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    An encounter that would not be controlled, managed or organized..

     

Leave a Reply

 
